Skip to content
20/06/2011 / featheredfiends

Rest in Peace Custard – you will be missed

Sadly my little Yellow Pied budgie passed away yesterday. She was a sweet little bird and will be greatly missed. She was great friends with Roswell and Jerry although very shy had come out of her shell a lot in the past few months.

We’re not entirely sure what the problem was but suspect a tumour and internal bleeding from this.

I held her in my hand and spoke to her as she passed, she did not suffer.

We miss you little Custard, you will not be forgotten.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. the writer / Jun 20 2011 6:23 PM

    I’m so sorry to hear this, but at least Custard is in birdie heaven along with other birdies up there.

    I feel heartbroken every time I lose a pet. Back then we rescued a budgie from the street called Skippy. He didn’t last long, only five months with us – perhaps he was already suffering from some disease, but I hope it was the happiest five months of his life with us

    • featheredfiends / Jun 20 2011 6:33 PM

      I only had Custard for five months too, she was a rehoming 😦

      She made friends here though and seemed very happy.

      Thank you for your message, I spent most of yesterday crying. It always hits me hard, it’s the worst part of looking after a pet.

  2. Gemma Sidney / Jun 20 2011 6:30 PM

    I’m very sorry to hear about poor Custard. Such a pretty budgie girl!

    She had a very happy life in your care and with her other budgie friends.

    • featheredfiends / Jun 20 2011 6:33 PM

      Thank you Gemma. It was very kind of you to comment.

      She did make friends here.

  3. onesweetiepea / Jun 20 2011 6:52 PM

    You are right…. it is the worst part of having a pet. They are such tiny little creatures yet fill up our hearts totally. So very sorry that it was Custard’s time to go. Maybe Eric is showing her around birdie heaven.

    • featheredfiends / Jun 20 2011 7:18 PM

      Yes, they do Sweetpea. I like the idea of Eric showing her around birdie heaven. Perhaps they are sharing some millet together on a swing 🙂

      We will get her cremated and as I still have Eric’s ashes we’ll scatter them both somewhere nice, any suggestions!?

      • stace / Jun 20 2011 11:54 PM

        She was so beautiful and so yellow. Maybe lay her to rest with Eric somewhere where there are trees and grass and buttercups.

      • onesweetiepea / Jun 21 2011 6:33 PM

        Wanstead park is lovely but may be a bit far from you.

  4. featheredfiends / Jun 21 2011 8:27 AM

    That is a good idea Stace, somewhere beautiful 🙂

  5. featheredfiends / Jun 22 2011 9:51 AM

    I am not sure I know Wanstead Park Sweetpea. I think I’ll go with somewhere a bit closer to home though.

Leave a Reply

