Skip to content
02/03/2012 / featheredfiends

Blueboy and his Avian Vet Visit

Little Blueboy had his vet appointment this afternoon. He got to sit in the budgie Show cage and be driven by my friend all the way there.

Unfortunately it wasn’t the news we had hoped for. Blueboy has an iodine deficiency which has caused a swelling in his neck. He also has a tumour somewhere in his stomach which is making it harder for him to eat and breathe.

The vet gave him an injection of steroids and iodine. He would like to see him again in a week.

The tumour is inoperable because it would kill him to perform surgery.

We have at most 2 months left with Blueboy according to the vet.

I will of course be doing everything I can to prolong this and his quality of life. Currently Blueboy is still eating, preening and shouting at me when he wants millet.

I asked if there was anything I could do to calm Blueboy as he is a very anxious bird. I was told that a drop of rescue remedy in his beak or a few drops in his water could help.

I am also looking into Apple Cider Vinegar as I am sure I read that it could shrink tumours.

Please keep Blueboy in your thoughts. Nurse Snowy and I shall continue to care for him as best we can.

x

Nurse Snowy Preens Blueboy to calm him

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. onesweetiepea / Mar 2 2012 7:23 PM

    It wouldn’t hurt to try ACV…. anything & everything is worth a try. Carry on eating, preening & shouting, Blueboy. 🙂

    • featheredfiends / Mar 2 2012 7:26 PM

      I definitely will do. I have already put a tiny amount in their water. I know it wont harm them, it’s good for preventing the build-up of bacteria.

      He had a taste, not sure if he was impressed 🙂

      • onesweetiepea / Mar 2 2012 7:29 PM

        If they are anything like my lot, they will have forgotten how neat water tastes. 😀

  2. featheredfiends / Mar 2 2012 7:31 PM

    That’s a good point 🙂

  3. kutubuku / Mar 2 2012 8:23 PM

    I’m keeping Blueboy in my thoughts. It must be devastating to hear such diagnose. What made you bring him to the vet in the first place, if I might ask?

    • featheredfiends / Mar 3 2012 8:27 AM

      Hi kutubuku

      Thank you for your kind comment.

      I took him because of a suspected iodine deficiency. He was making a “squeak” and having trouble breathing.

Leave a Reply

