Skip to content
29/03/2012 / featheredfiends

Fly High Jerry

We had to have Jerry put to sleep yesterday. He had fits all night last night and I had to let him go. I believe it was due to his liver problems.

Hardest decision I have ever had to make.

I know I did the right thing, hard though it was. After his fits he could barely move, couldn’t eat or drink. I syringed him a little water with guardian angel but basically he would have slowly starved to death over another day or so.

I said goodbye to him before the vet took him off and then burst into tears.

Rest in peace little Jerry. We miss you, but have our memories of happy times.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachel / Mar 29 2012 11:05 AM

    Oh gosh, I am so very very sorry 😦 You did the right thing.

    Fly high little guy.

    Love from me and the Swann x

  2. Sue / Mar 29 2012 11:07 AM

    I’m really sorry to hear this Marianne. You did the best thing. Though not easy I know. When your ready, give me a shout and I’ll make jerry an angel to share company with custard, bluebird and eric. Big hugs Marianne. x

  3. jmgoyder / Mar 29 2012 11:44 AM

    So sorry and I know exactly what this is like.

    • featheredfiends / Mar 29 2012 11:54 AM

      Thanks. It’s gotta be up there as one of the worst feelings ever.

      • jmgoyder / Mar 29 2012 12:15 PM

        I know – I have actually had to do it myself twice – still haunts me.

  4. onesweetiepea / Mar 29 2012 12:19 PM

    Oh no…… I am soooo sorry. This is just awful news. I hope Blueboy, Custard & Eric have given him a welcome. You did your best. x

    • featheredfiends / Mar 29 2012 12:45 PM

      Thanks Sweetpea. I hope they are all playing and singing together, stuffing their beaks with millet and nice foods.

  5. avian101 / Mar 29 2012 1:38 PM

    I’m very sad after reading about Jerry, I’m sorry for your loss Marianne.

    • featheredfiends / Mar 29 2012 1:40 PM

      Thank you H.J. We had him for two years but it doesn’t seem enough. The day before he was flying about and having fun. I knew he had a liver condition but I thought we were managing it well. I guess you just don’t know how long they have left.

  6. sheila365 / Mar 29 2012 1:51 PM

    I’m so sorry to hear. He was a very lucky bird to have ended up with you and the crew 🙂

    • featheredfiends / Mar 29 2012 1:54 PM

      Thank you Sheila. He was one of our Pet Shop birds. Brought in especially to be a friend to Roswell who was exhibiting antisocial behaviour because Monty and Snowy had paired off as friends.

  7. kutubuku / Mar 30 2012 3:08 PM

    I am so sorry for your loss. We just lost one of our family members too, an accident with a toy / cage accessories we have. It was so horrible I didn’t want to think about it, especially because it was Sunny, our youngest who was still around 6 months old.

    We buried her by the fortress park here in Copenhagen, so peaceful and quiet (dogs are not allowed) by the lake where the birds chirping are heard everywhere. I’m so devastated :((

  8. stace / Apr 6 2012 12:05 PM

    They’re lovely photos of Jerry. His illness was very sudden. Must have been an awful shock. x

Leave a Reply

